For friendly, expert advice call: +44 (0) 1962 733051

South Africa – Birds & Cricket!

Malachite Kingfisher, South Africa

Malachite Kingfisher, South Africa

Following the Test team’s spectacular Ashes series victory this summer and the emergence of an England One Day side that's finally embracing the modern method of this form of the game, we are set for a truly exciting winter tour to South Africa! It will no doubt be a stern examination, particularly in the Test arena where South Africa is currently ranked number one in the world. However, with a number of stars emerging in both the Test and One Day sides, England will surely fancy its chances and do battle with the ‘Proteas’.
 
This is your chance to follow the England cricket team to the southern hemisphere and watch the drama unfold, either by joining our 16-day Wanderers Test Match tour departing on the 12th January 2016, or our 16-day holiday departing on the 5th February, timed to coincide with the One Day Internationals in Cape Town and Johannesburg. This latter tour includes a match at Cape Town's iconic Newlands Cricket Ground in the shadow of Table Mountain!
 
On other days when we're not enjoying the cricket we will head out into the national parks and wildlife reserves of South Africa to enjoy the country's abundant birdlife, mammals and other natural history.

Please click on the links below for further details of both of our 'South Africa - Birds & Cricket' holiday’s itineraries.

Itinerary options for January/February 2016 as follows:

Test Match & Birding
Wed 13th Jan: Morning arrival Johannesburg with birding at Rietvlei Nature Reserve
Thu 14th – Mon 18th Jan: Test Match, the Wanderers
Tue 19th Jan: Dullstroom
Wed 20th Jan: Mount Sheba
Thu 21st Jan: Blyde River Canyon
Fri 22nd – Mon 25th Jan: Kruger National Park
Tue 26th Jan: Return Johannesburg for flight to UK
 
One Day Internationals & Birding
Sat 6th Feb: Morning arrival Johannesburg & fly Skukuza, Kruger National Park
Sun 7th Feb: Skukuza, Kruger National Park
Mon 8th – Tue 9th Feb: Satara, Kruger National Park
Wed 10th Feb: Mount Sheba/Dullstroom
Thu 11th Feb: Johannesburg area (near the Wanderers)
Fri 12th Feb: ODI match, the Wanderers
Sat 13th Feb: Morning flight to Cape Town; Kirstenbosch Gardens
Sun 14th Feb: ODI match, Newlands
Mon 15th – Tue 16th Feb: Cape Peninsula
Wed 17th – Thu 18th Feb: West Coast National Park, Langebaan
Fri 19th Feb: Return UK, via Cape Town
 
Contact:
For further information about this tour, please call Paul on 01962 733051 or email Paul Stanbury (paul@naturetrek.co.uk) or visit the webpage: Test Match & Birding or One Day Internationals & Birding.