For friendly, expert advice call: +44 (0) 1962 733051

Anyone for birds & cricket in South Africa?

Malachite Kingfisher, Kruger National Park (Johan Swanepoel)

Malachite Kingfisher, Kruger National Park (Johan Swanepoel)

It’s been another winter of disappointment for England cricket supporters, with another dismal showing in the World Cup. However, the team heads to South Africa this coming winter, and the prospect of a Test Match in Johannesburg or a One Day International at the iconic Newlands cricket ground, in the shadow of Table Mountain, under azure January skies, combined with birding and wildlife excursions around the country, is enough to get the pulse racing of any wildlife and cricket lover (of whom there are several in the Naturetrek office!).

We're offering two itinerary options for a 'South Africa - Cricket & Wildlife' tour to coincide with i) the Test Match at the Wanderers (a Naturetrek group saw the famous ‘Matthew Hoggard Test’ here in 2005) or ii) a different itinerary which takes in the ODIs at Johannesburg and Cape Town. To pre-register your interest, please drop an email to Paul Stanbury paul@naturetrek.co.uk

Itinerary* options for January/February 2016 as follows:

Test match and Birding

Wed 13th Jan: Morning arrival with birding as possibly Rietvlei Nature Reserve

Thu 14th - Mon 18th Jan: Test Match, Wanderers

Tue 19th Jan: Dullstroom

Wed 20th Jan: Mt Sheba

Thu 21st Jan: Blyde River Canyon

Fri 22nd - Mon 25th Jan: Kruger National Park

Tue 26 Jan: Return Johannesburg for flight to UK

 

One Day Internationals & Birding

Sat 6th Feb: Morning arrival & fly Skukuza, Kruger National Park

Sun 7th Feb: Skukuza, Kruger National Park

Mon 8th - Tue 9th Feb: Satara, Kruger National Park

Wed 10th Feb: Mt Sheba/Dullstroom

Thu 11th Feb: Johannesburg area (near Wanderers)

Fri 12thFeb: ODI, Wanderers

Sat 13th Feb: Morning flight to Cape Town; Kirstenbosch Gardens

Sun 14th Feb: ODI, Newlands

Mon 15th - Tue 16th Feb: Cape Peninsula

Wed 17th - Thu 18th Feb: West Coast National Park, Langebaan

Fri 19th Feb: Return UK, via Cape Town

*Please note that the exact itinerary for each trip is still to be confirmed.